National Youth Worker of the Year Awards

Sophie Isaacson – Youth Worker of the Year (Full time or full time equivalent

Sophie receiving reward

The National Youth Worker of the Year Awards 2012 were organised by YouthLink Scotland and took place at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow on 15th March where the outstanding service, contribution and performance by managers, youth workers, peer educators, teams and individuals working within the youth work sector across Scotland was recognised and celebrated.

More than 320 youth workers, managers, sponsors and invited guests attended the event hosted by BBC Scotland’s Glenn Campbell. The Minister for Children and Young People, Aileen Campbell MSP, also attended and addressed the event. Commenting on the Awards, Jim Sweeney – Chief Executive of YouthLink Scotland who organised the event – said “The National Youth Worker of the Year Awards 2012 has been a fantastic success and I congratulate all of our winners. Competition was particularly strong this year. All of the finalists and winners have shown a truly outstanding commitment to innovative youth work that helps to improve the lives of young people in Scotland and the communities that they live in.”

The Minster for Children and Young People, Aileen Campbell, added “On behalf of the Scottish Government, I’d like to congratulate this year’s Youth Worker of the Year Award winners on receiving the recognition they so rightly deserve. As a Government, we place great value on the role youth work can play in improving young people’s life chances while also contributing to local communities.”

The Tiree Community Development Trust told An Tirisdeach “We are absolutely delighted that Sophie has won the youth worker of the year award. She is an extremely hard working and enthusiastic youth worker and is a wonderful asset to the Isle of Tiree. She is a truly deserving winner.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.