Tag Archives: Polling

Community Council Set For November Poll

Tiree will see an autumn byelection for its Community Council as six candidates put themselves forward for election.

The poll was called by Argyll and Bute Council after a spring date for community council elections throughout the authority was pulled due to coronavirus.

Four vacancies in the island’s community council were declared. With nominations now in, six candidates have put themselves forward:

• Jacqueline Bennett, Schoolhouse, Balemartine

• Iona Campbell, 4 Baugh

• Stewart Carr, Sanderling, Balephetrish

• Iona Larg, The Two Harvests, No. 2, Balemartine

• John Patience, Taigh an Altire, Caolis

• Louise Reid J, 11 Sruthan Terrace, Crossapol

On Thursday 15 October, Argyll and Bute Council will send out postal ballots to everyone whose name was on the Electoral Roll on 1 September 2020. These have to be returned by 4 pm on Thursday 5 November 2020.

The ballots will contain the candidates’ statements, and we are looking to see if there might be other ways for candidates to set out their stall before votes have to be in. One way might be for them to introduce themselves at the Community Council public meeting on 14 October. We will post details with the agenda of the next meeting.

Dr John Holliday, Convener,

Tiree Community Council

This Is Your Chance To Give Tiree A Voice

community council electionIn the last issue we made you aware of the upcoming Community Council elections for Tiree.

There are nine candidates who each bring their individual personality and skill to the table and who collectively create a strong cross section of island knowledge and experience. The candidates are:

Donald Campbell, Ian Gillies, Dr. John Holliday, Alison Kennedy, John MacCaskill, Frazer MacInnes, Angus Mackechnie, Ross MacLennan and Rosemary Omand. Candidate statements on why you should vote for them can be found on the Argyll and Bute Council-below is the URL.


In addition to this, there is a timetable detailing the stages of the election including significant dates, and contact addresses for each of the candidates.

This is your chance to select the representatives you would like to see leading Tiree into its promising future. Not just for the tourist season, but all year round, for the needs and concerns of all who call Tiree their home; the young, the older generation and all ages in between. Vote to make this not only a historic year for Scotland, but a historic year for our island.

Don’t forget it’s a postal vote!

It’s Official! Tiree Community Council Elections

community council electionFollowing a short campaign by local Tiree residents it is now confirmed by Argyll & Bute Council that elections for a new Community Council on Tiree will go ahead on Thursday the 26th June.

This will be an election that is out of the normal Community Council election cycle, but has been agreed to by Argyll & Bute Council as a special case due to the pressing need for our community to have a statutory `voice’.

There are a great many issues on Tiree that a Community Council can become involved with. Many of a Community Council’s functions and responsibilities have a statutory background, particularly with certain important public consultations. It is very much hoped that a good cross-section of residents, who feel that they can help with the varied responsibilities and commitments of being a Community Councillor, will consider seeking nomination.

The process of nomination is necessarily fairly formal, but nevertheless quite straightforward. Details of where and how to obtain your nomination form are given in the formal notice of election. A Community Council can have an enormous impact on the future of Tiree, and can also be very rewarding, in terms of making a significant contribution within your own community.

Community Councils Notice Of By-Election

Election Day – 26 June 2014

  1. An Election is to be held for the return of Community Councillors to constitute the undernoted Community Council within the Oban, Lorn and the Isles area of Argyll and Bute. Tiree AA53
  2. Persons wishing to represent their Community Council must reside in the community council area and be named on the elector register for the community council area in which they are standing. A candidate’s proposer and seconder must also be named on the electoral register and reside in the same community council area.
  3. Nomination papers must be lodged with the Depute Returning Officer, Kilmory Headquarters, Lochgilphead PA31 8RT on any day except a Saturday or Sunday after the date of this notice, but not later than 4.00pm on Monday 26 May 2014 and withdrawals of persons nominated must be intimated at the same address not later than 4.00pm on Monday 26 May 2014.
  4. Nomination forms may be obtained from the Depute Returning Officer at the addresses below or can be downloaded from the Councils website, www.argyll-bute.gov.uk/elections or e-mail elections@argyll-bute.gov.uk

Kilmory Headquarters                                 The Business Centre

Lochgilphead                                                    Crossapol

PA31 8RT                                                           Isle of Tiree PA77 6UP


Sally Loudon, Returning Officer, Kilmory, Lochgilphead PA31 8RT